top of page

My First Bus Thought

Why is it people say "I'm a huge fan" or "I'm a enormous fan" but never say "I'm a large fan" ?

The Butcher and the Baker had some similar and logical points. The Butcher said that the reason is because we are not referring to width or enormity on the horizontal plane, rather the implication is about height/impressiveness. When things are higher/taller, they tend to be more impressive and follow the pattern of being more than something else. (Example: The ol' "I've have it up to here" bit) (I know this is a terrible example).

The Baker was in the same boat. It is not so much the physical reference as it is the impression of "I have this much respect/admiration for you". Large falls under the normal classification of size. Large is not out of the ordinary. Enormous and huge indicate bigger than big. If that makes sense.

I like this explanation. Large seems to be mundane in its description. If one is to imply a fervor behind their passion for something, it should be out of the ordinary. Otherwise, it would be like saying "I think you are ok." Who wants to shout that from the rooftops?

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page